Pages Menu
Facebook
Categories Menu

Friday 15th, 05:30 pm

18:00 OPENING EVENING

18:00 OPENING EVENING

(public event, entry from 17:30.) Welcome by Peter Limbourg, artistic director of Deutsche Welle (DW) Ronald Zehrfeld and his team colleagues from Motorcircus present their project „Mission South“/“Ärzte helfe e.V.“ Opening film: MAUDIE – feature film by Aisling Walsh, 116 mins. Canada/ Ireland, 2016. Original with German subtitles. Cinema sneak preview. Maud has been suffering from a severe form of Arthritis since her childhood, with every movement leading to agony. She’s lonely but full of the will to live and loves painting. When she takes a job as a housekeeper for the grumpy fisherman Everett, a tender love story develops. From then on Maud paints her surroundings in bright colours and soon becomes somewhat of a celebrity even beyond the confines of the small village. The true story of a strong personality who fights against bodily restrictions and finds her happiness in...

Read More

Saturday 16th, 09:15 am

PRESENTATION – “HOUSE BY THE LAKE / HAUS AM SEE” GRANT

PRESENTATION – “HOUSE BY THE LAKE / HAUS AM SEE” GRANT

The international project development grant “Haus am See”, a co-operation between the Antonius foundation and Lupa-Film, promotes young film makers in the Berlin-Brandenburg area. Workshop discussion with project viewing TEMPELHOF – FIELD OF HOPE (Karim Ainouz, grant holder 2016/2017) Naming of the grant winner for...

Read More

Saturday 16th, 10:00 am

KEEP QUIET

KEEP QUIET

The MOSES MENDELSSOHN FOUNDATION presents: KEEP QUIET Documentary by Sam Blair and Joseph Martin, 90 mins. Hungary/ USA, original with German subtitles. German premier Csanad Szegedi is the European representative of the extreme right-wing Jobbik Party and an ardent anti-Semitist. One day he is confronted with the fact that he himself is a Jew. At this point a journey starts– both for him and the viewer –  into the heart of personal identity, family and a gripping story of fault and responsibility. Followed by: film discussion.with Prof. Dr. Julius H. Schoeps (Moses Mendelssohn...

Read More

8. August 2017

DIFFICULTIES WITH DISPLAYING THE TRUTH

DIFFICULTIES WITH DISPLAYING THE TRUTH

Documentary by Georg Stefan Troller, 58mins, German Republic, 1966. In this older documentary, the grand documentary maker Georg Stefan Troller examines a popular French TV-show through the lens of its reports as opposed to the actual truth. In his portrayal of the whole production process he questions the impartiality of the pictures. An astoundingly contemporary film in these times of ‘fake’ news with the opportunity to chat with a witness of that century. Followed by: conversation with our guest of honour Georg Stefan Troller about his life’s work, moderated by Gero von...

Read More

Saturday 16th, 05:00 pm

ONLY US THREE TOGETHER

ONLY US THREE TOGETHER

Feature film by Kheiron, 102 mins, France, 2015, German. Due to political pressure in 1984 an Iranian student flees with his wife and children to France where they find a new home in a Parisian banlieu and where they get involved with the integration of outsiders. In this auto-biographical family drama, Kheiron tells the story of his parents with plenty of humour and love, with everything from social engagement to familial solidarity. Foto: @ Reza/Adama Pictures-Gaumont  ...

Read More

Saturday 16th, 02:45 pm

WE ARE HUMANITY

WE ARE HUMANITY

Documentary, Alexander Dereims, 90 mins, France, 2016. Original with German subtitles. German premier. The Jarawa folk live on an island in the Indian ocean like emissaries of an earlier time. As one of the only remaining original tribes they develop their way of life as hunter-gatherers – happy, peaceful and in harmony with nature. The French director Alexandre Dereims tells the story of a threatened paradise and its people through calm, impressive images. Followed by: film discussion with Alexandre Dereims (Filmmaker).  Foto: @Claire...

Read More

Saturday 16th, 06:00 pm

PRESENTING PRINCESS SHAW

PRESENTING PRINCESS SHAW

Followed by the film ‘Presenting Princess Shaw’, documentary by Ido Haar, 80 mins, Israel, 2015, original with German subtitles. Cinema sneak-preview. Samantha Montgomery works as a carer in an old people’s home during the day and in her free time tries to become a singer and ‘YouTuber’. The Israeli artist Kutiman discovers her on the internet and combines her songs with song clips from musicians from all over the world- until ‘Princess Shaw’ one day has her big performance. A modern fairy-tale about the connecting and creative power of the internet, with two enchanting protagonists. Followed by: film discussion with a musical contribution from ‘Princess Shaw’ alias Samantha Montgomery. Foto:  Haim Yafim Barbalat / Courtesy of Atzmor...

Read More

Sunday 17th, 09:30 am

JOE’S VIOLIN

JOE’S VIOLIN

Documentary by Kahane Cooperman, 24 mins, USA, 2016, original with German subtitles. The first thing that the holocaust survivor Joe Feingold bought after his freeing from the camp for ‘Displaced persons’ was a violin. He becomes old and gives it to a school in the Bronx, in which talented children from difficult social backgrounds are encouraged musically. In the hands of 12 year old Brianna Perez, the violin finds a new master. And Joe experiences how, through his generous donation, his legacy continues and that he can make someone...

Read More

Sunday 17th, 10:15 am

AMELIE RUNS

AMELIE RUNS

Feature film by Tobias Wiemann, 97 mins, Germany/Italy, 2017. Cinema sneak-preview. Amelie is as stubborn as only a girl during puberty can be – and hates being chronically ill with asthma. When her parents send her off to rehabilitation in South Tyrol, she uses all her energy to try and run away from everyone. Thankfully there’s Bart who climbs her ‘mountain’ with her and opposes her defiance with devotion and humour. A film about the wonder of friendship. Followed by: film discussion with Tobias Wiemann (filmmaker) Foto:@Lieblingsfilm Martin...

Read More

Sunday 17th, 12:45 pm

LITTLE STONES

LITTLE STONES

Documentary by Sophia Kruz, 87mins, USA, 2017. German Premier This prize-winning film portrays four unusual ladies, who through their art and social engagement stand up for the rights of ladies worldwide. Sister Fa, really Fatou Mandiang Diatta, is a Senegalese rapper and activist against genital mutilation in Africa. A graffiti artist who protests against violence in the Brazilian favelas with her artwork, an Indian dancer who with the art of dance brings therapy to the victims of sexual assault, a young American who has started a fashion brand in Africa. These ladies tell the story of success and courage in an often seemingly comfortless world. Followed by: film discussion with Sister Fa...

Read More

Sunday 17th, 05:10 pm

LIFE BEGINS AT 100

LIFE BEGINS AT 100

Supporting film: ‘Refugeé Class’ – short film by Jean Bouè, 17mins, German.  LIFE BEGINS AT 100 documentary by Asa Blanck, 58mins, Sweden, 2015. German premier. On her 100th birthday Dagny Carlsson buys herself a computer for the first time and begins to write a blog. Soon she has more than half a million readers. She’s invited to film premiers and talk-shows. And she fulfils the life-long dream of working as a teacher. She teaches others how to use a computer! Followed by:  film discussion with Jean Bouè and Asa Blanck (film...

Read More

Navigation
Facebook
Kategorien

Freitag, 15. September, 18.00 Uhr (Einlass ab 17.30 Uhr)

FILMFEST ERÖFFNUNG mit Vorpremiere MAUDIE

FILMFEST ERÖFFNUNG mit Vorpremiere MAUDIE

Eröffnungsabend (Einlass ab 17.30Uhr) Grusswort Peter Limbourg, Intendant Deutsche Welle (DW) Im Anschluss: Der Schauspieler Ronald Zehrfeld und seine Team-Kollegen von „Motorcircus“ stellen ihr Projekt „Mission South“/“Ärzte helfen e.V.“ vor. Eröffnungsfilm: MAUDIE Spielfilm von Aisling Walsh, 116 Min., Kanada / Irland, 2016, OmU dt., Vorpremiere Maud leidet seit ihrer Kindheit an einer schweren Form der Arthritis, die jede Bewegung zur Qual werden lässt. Sie ist einsam, aber voller Lebenswillen und liebt die Malerei. Als sie einen Job als Haushälterin bei dem mürrischen Fischhändler Everett annimmt, entspinnt sich eine zarte Liebesgeschichte. Fortan malt Maud ihre Umgebung in farbenfrohen Bildern und wird bald über die Grenzen der kleinen Ortschaft hinaus eine Berühmtheit. Die wahre Geschichte einer starken Persönlichkeit, die sich gegen körperliche Einschränkungen auflehnt und das Glück in der Kunst findet. Foto: Duncan...

Mehr

Samstag, 16. September, 09.15 Uhr

PRÄSENTATION STIPENDIUM „HAUS AM SEE“ (Eintritt frei!)

PRÄSENTATION STIPENDIUM „HAUS AM SEE“ (Eintritt frei!)

Das internationale Stoffentwicklungsstipendium „Haus am See“, eine Kooperation mit der Antoniusstiftung und Lupa-Film, fördert junge Filmemacher in der Region Berlin-Brandenburg. Werkstattgespräch mit Materialsichtung / Moderation: Felix von Boehm TEMPELHOF – FIELD OF HOPE  (Karim Ainouz, Stipendiat 2016/2017) Nennung Stipendiat 2017/2018 EINTRITT...

Mehr

Samstag, 16. September, 10.00 Uhr

KEEP QUIET

KEEP QUIET

Die MOSES MENDELSSOHN STIFTUNG präsentiert: KEEP QUIET Dokumentarfilm von Sam Blair und Joseph Martin, 90 Min., Ungarn/USA 2016, OmU dt., Deutschlandpremiere Czanad Szegedi ist Europa-Abgeordneter der rechtsextremen Jobbik-Partei und glühender Antisemit. Eines Tages wird er mit der Tatsache konfrontiert, dass er selbst Jude ist. Für ihn beginnt die Suche nach der eigenen Identität und der seiner Familie. Es geht um Schuld und Verantwortung. Im Anschluss: Filmgespräch mit Prof. Dr. Julius H. Schoeps, Direktor des Moses Mendelssohn Zentrums für europäisch-jüdische Studien an der Universität Potsdam und Vorstandsvorsitzender der Moses Mendelssohn...

Mehr

Samstag, 16. September, 12.15 Uhr

SCHWIERIGKEITEN BEIM ZEIGEN DER WAHRHEIT

SCHWIERIGKEITEN BEIM ZEIGEN DER WAHRHEIT

Dokumentarfilm von Georg Stefan Troller, 58 Min., Bundesrepublik Deutschland 1966 Der große Dokumentarfilmer Georg Stefan Troller setzt sich in dieser frühen Dokumentation über eine populäre französische Fernsehsendung mit den Bedingungen von Berichterstattung und Wahrheit auseinander. Indem er den gesamten Produktionsprozess schildert, hinterfragt er die Objektivität der Bilder. Ein erstaunlich aktueller Film zu Zeiten von „Fake“-News und Gelegenheit zum Gespräch  mit einem Jahrhundertzeugen. Im Anschluss: Gespräch mit unserem Ehrengast Georg Stefan Troller über sein Lebenswerk mit Gero von Boehm Foto: @Norbert...

Mehr

Samstag, 16. September, 14.45 Uhr

NUR WIR DREI GEMEINSAM

NUR WIR DREI GEMEINSAM

Spielfilm von Kheiron, 102 Min., Frankreich, 2015, dt. Ein iranischer Student flüchtet 1984 wegen des politischen Drucks in seiner Heimat mit Frau und Kind nach Frankreich, wo sie in einer Pariser Banlieue eine neue Heimat finden und sich für die Integration der an den Rand gedrängten Menschen einsetzen. In dem autobiografischen Familiendrama erzählt Kheiron mit viel Humor und Liebe von der Geschichte seiner Eltern, von sozialem Engagement und familiärem Zusammenhalt. Foto: @ Reza/Adama Pictures-Gaumont  ...

Mehr

Samstag, 16. September, 17.00 Uhr

WE ARE HUMANITY

WE ARE HUMANITY

Dokumentarfilm von Alexandre Dereims, 90 Min., Frankreich 2016, OmU dt.; Deutschlandpremiere Auf einer Insel im Indischen Ozean leben die Jarawa wie Abgesandte aus einer früheren Zeit. Als eines der wenigen verbliebenen Urvölker pflegen sie ihre Lebensweise als Jäger und Sammler – fröhlich, friedlich und im Einklang mit der Natur.  Der französische Regisseur Alexandre Dereims durfte sich diesem Volk nähern und erzählt die Geschichte eines bedrohten Paradieses und seiner Bewohner in ruhigen, eindrucksvollen Bildern. Im Anschluss: Filmgespräch mit Alexandre Dereims (Regisseur) Foto: @Claire...

Mehr

Samstag, 16. September, 21.15 Uhr

PRESENTING PRINCESS SHAW

PRESENTING PRINCESS SHAW

Dokumentarfilm von Ido Haar, 80 Minuten, Israel 2015, OmU dt., Deutschlandpremiere Samantha Montgomery arbeitet tagsüber als Pflegerin in einem Altersheim, in ihrer Freizeit versucht sie sich als Sängerin und YouTuberin. Der israelische Künstler Kutiman entdeckt sie im Internet und verbindet ihren Gesang mit den Clips von Musikern aus aller Welt – bis „Princess Shaw“ eines Tages ihren ganz großen Auftritt hat. Ein modernes Märchen über die verbindende und kreative Kraft des Internets mit zwei hinreißenden Protagonisten. Im Anschluss: Filmgespräch & Musikeinlage mit Princess Shaw alias Samantha Montgomery Foto:  Haim Yafim Barbalat / Courtesy of Atzmor...

Mehr

Sonntag, 17. September, 09.30 Uhr

JOE’S VIOLIN

JOE’S VIOLIN

Dokumentarfilm von Kahane Cooperman, 24 Minuten, USA 2016, OmU dt.; Deutschlandpremiere Das erste, was der Holocaust-Überlebende Joe Feingold nach seiner Entlassung aus dem Lager für „Displaced Persons“ gekauft hat, war eine Violine. Nun ist er alt und gibt sie an eine Schule in der Bronx, in denen begabte Kinder aus schwierigen sozialen Verhältnissen musikalisch gefördert werden. Die Violine findet in der zwölfjährigen Brianna Perez eine neue Meisterin. Und Joe erlebt, wie er mit seiner großzügigen Spende einen Menschen glücklich macht und sein Vermächtnis am Leben...

Mehr

Sonntag, 17. September, 10.15 Uhr

AMELIE RENNT

AMELIE RENNT

Spielfilm von Tobias Wiemann, 97 Minuten, Deutschland/Italien 2017, dt.; Vorpremiere Amelie ist so bockig wie nur pubertierende Mädchen sein können – und hasst es, chronisch an Asthma erkrankt zu sein. Als ihre Eltern sie zur Kur nach Südtirol verfrachten, bietet sie ihre gesamte Energie auf, um allem davonzulaufen. Zum Glück gibt es Bart, der mit ihr auf den Berg steigt und ihrem Trotz Zuneigung und Humor entgegensetzt. Ein Familienfilm über das Wunder der Freundschaft. Im Anschluss: Filmgespräch mit Tobias Wiemann (Regisseur) Foto:@Lieblingsfilm Martin...

Mehr

Sonntag, 17. September, 12.45 Uhr

LITTLE STONES

LITTLE STONES

Dokumentarfilm von Sophia Kruz, 87min., USA 2017 OmU dt., Deutschlandpremiere Der preisgekrönte Film porträtiert vier ungewöhnliche Frauen, die mit ihrer Kunst und ihrem Engagement für die Rechte von Frauen weltweit eintreten. Sister Fa, eigentlich Fatou Mandiang Diatta, ist eine senegalesische Rapperin und Aktivistin gegen die Genitalverstümmelung in Afrika. Eine Graffitikünstlerin, die mit ihrer Kunst gegen die Gewalt in brasilianischen Favelas aufbegehrt, eine indische Tänzerin, die mit ihrer Tanzkunst Opfer sexueller Übergriffe therapiert, eine junge Amerikanerin, die ein Modelabel in Afrika aufgebaut hat. Diese Frauen erzählen Geschichten des Gelingens und des Mutes in einer oftmals trostlos anmutenden Welt. Im Anschluss: Filmgespräch & Musikeinlage mit Sister Fa...

Mehr

Sonntag, 17. September, 16.45 Uhr

LIFE BEGINS AT 100

LIFE BEGINS AT 100

Vorfilm (mit Filmgespräch): EIN UNGEDREHTER FILM  Ein Projekt der Refugee Class der Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF unter Leitung von Jean Boué, 16 min, Deutschland 2017  Hauptfilm: LIFE BEGINS AT 100 Dokumentarfilm von Âsa Blanck, 58 Min., Schweden, 2015, OmU dt. Deutschlandpremiere An ihrem 100. Geburtstag kauft sich Dagny Carlsson erstmals einen Computer und beginnt, einen Blog zu schreiben. Schon bald hat sie mehr als eine halbe Million Leser. Sie wird zu Filmpremieren und Talkshows eingeladen. Und sie erfüllt sich den lebenslangen Traum, als Lehrerin zu arbeiten: Sie schult ältere Menschen im Umgang mit Computern. Im Anschluss: Filmgespräch mit Âsa Blanck...

Mehr